Critics Corner.

Opinions. And LOTS of them.

Why Marat Safin will never be a great player

Posted by Sports Snob on September 8, 2006

safin.jpg

 

Just when you thought he was back again, he goes out and loses a five-setter to Tommy Haas. No offence to Haas but he isn’t really a player that will give the Federer or the Nadal a sleepless night; but then it seems Safin won’t either!

Safin burst onto the scene with a stunning victory over Sampras in the 2000 US Open. And six years down the line, we are still searching for that player. Anybody who could make Sampras look like a novice in a grand slam final is, no doubt, precociously talented but then talent alone does not do the trick.

At the highest levels, to be recognized is one thing to be remembered is quite another. Talent gains recognition, temperament makes one a champion. This is the reason why Sampras, Schumacher, Tiger Woods, Sachin are talked about synonymously with their respective sports. Safin will play the occasional stunning tennis and then come out the next day and get beaten by a player like me! Yes, he brings a human element that can be appreciated and all that jazz but then so did McEnroe and that never deterred him from winning.

So, what does Safin need to do? I don’t know if there is anything he can do. He has been around long enough to learn and adapt. He has failed.

Serena and Venus

serena-venus.jpg

The biggest disappointment in women’s tennis! These two had such prodigious talent, power and natural athletic skills that between them, they could have broken every record in women’s tennis. I must admit that I didn’t really like them when I first saw them play. They just seemed to be hitting it more powerfully than the rest (it seems prettier when Sharapova hits that powerfully, doesn’t it?). But what I overlooked was the natural athletic skill they possessed. What happened then? Acting, fashion, interior designing robbed us of two wonderful tennis players. Nobody, ever, can wake up one fine day, come out on court and expect to win.

They seem satisfied with what they have achieved. Have you ever heard Schumacher say anything about being happy with the number of grand prix victories, a Sampras saying after five Wimbledon titles that he had had enough? To be great requires an insatiable thirst for competition and victory. These two don’t have seem to have that (and if they do, it can’t be achieved by playing just one tournament before a grand slam).

Safin, Venus and Serena have so much talent that it is a pity to see how their careers have gone. Players with much lesser talent – a Courier- have achieved more than what their talent would have allowed. To be great you need temperament and drive as much as you need talent. These three have failed; they have disappointed me and fans world over, I am sure. Their careers are not over yet but will they come back and prove me wrong? I sorely wish they do but I doubt it.

Prof

PS: Ironic, Venus Williams won the US Open Women’s singles in 2000.

Venus and Serena have won quite a few titles but not as many as they could have (should have?).

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Why Marat Safin will never be a great player”

  1. Ms. V said

    YAY! YAY! YAY! I’m back in the land of reliable internet connections i.e. the West! So, I can, at long last, read this blog religiously. You’re probably not aware, but I’m a HUGE fan!!!! I love the concept and love the posts. I don’t always agree with them, but what the heck. Keep blogging!

    P.S. – One of you knows me, so this is not just some random person going crazy on your blog.

  2. Prof said

    Thanks Ms. V. Glad to know people enjoy reading it as much as we enjoy putting it up.

    I can guess which one of us knows you but you might be mistaken in thinking that only one of us does🙂
    Keep visiting and three cheers for the internet

  3. Ravi said

    altho the grunts that accompany sharapovas power hitting are quite putting off and annoying i have to say. as for safin, the man leaves me dissappointed as ever. jus when i feel he has turned a corner. “he has failed” is a strong statement. but he hasnt left us with much of a choice. suffice to say i wont give up on him anytime soon.

  4. Prof said

    yes, the grunting is annoying … but then it is SHARAPOVA🙂.
    He has failed is very strong… probably stronger than the truth really is but Safin could have been Federer’s Edberg. Well, atleast someone still has faith in him🙂

  5. alexandra said

    bullshit! marat is the best he doesnt need tu break his nek to win. heis one of the best and he will alway be.

  6. […] had written about Serena here: “…Nobody, ever, can wake up one fine day, come out on court and expect to win.” […]

  7. […] had written about Serena here: “…Nobody, ever, can wake up one fine day, come out on court and expect to win.” […]

  8. Adrian said

    Hi – I found your website by mistake. I was searching in Bing for Antivirus software that I had already purchased when I came upon your site, I have to say your website is pretty informative, I just love the theme, its amazing!. I don’t have the time this minute to totally read your entire site but I have bookmarked it and also signed up for your RSS feed. I will be back around in a day or two. Thanks again for a cool site.

  9. Yes, the listed females are beautiful but these are crazy. No kidding, here’s Carin Schak http://tinyurl.com/yckzd6

  10. La ringrazio molto per la condivisione, molto interessante argomento

  11. i was beginning to believe that i may perhaps end up being the only human being whom thought about this, at least at present i find out i’m not nutty🙂 i will make it a point to have a look at various various posts soon after i get a bit of caffeine in me, it’s rough to read without my coffee, I was up late last night practicing facebook poker and after having a few beers i finished up giving up all my zynga poker chips cheers🙂

  12. I truly wanted to send a quick note so as to express gratitude to you for all of the fabulous tips and hints you are giving on this site. My time consuming internet research has at the end been honored with reasonable facts and techniques to exchange with my pals. I would tell you that most of us site visitors are rather fortunate to dwell in a superb place with very many awesome people with interesting plans. I feel quite lucky to have discovered your entire webpages and look forward to so many more pleasurable minutes reading here. Thank you once more for everything.

Leave a Reply

 
